Friday, January 28, 2011

'Munni' beats 'Sheila' at Mirchi Music Awards

'Munni' beats 'Sheila' at Mirchi Music Awards: Munni Badnaam Hui won over Sheila Ki Jawani at the Mirchi Music Awards as Dabangg walked away with the top honours.

Sung by Mamta Sharma and Aishwarya ‘Munni’ won the Best Song as well as Best Item Number, scoring a big-win for ‘Munni’ Malaika Arora over ‘Sheila’ Katrina Kaif.

The show was anchored by singers Shaan and Sonu Nigam who made the proceedings effortless and also showcased the comic side to their personality by pulling fast ones on themselves as well as their collegues from the industry. There were special acts by Shreya Ghoshal, Daler Mehendi, and Mika among others.

The Awards were decided by a high-powered jury comprising all the big names of the industry �" Padma Bhushan Javed Akhtar, was the jury chairman of the awards leading 14 illustrious members including Aadesh Shrivastava, Alka Yagnik, Anu Malik, Kailash Kher, Kavita Krishnamurthy, Lalit Pandit, Louiz Banks, Prasoon Joshi, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Ramesh Sippy, Shankar Mahadevan, Sadhana Sargam, Subhash Ghai and Suresh Wadkar.

The sand-out performance of the night was from Bappi Lahiri, Usha Uthup and DJ Lloyd who electrified the stage with retro re-mixes of the evergreen I Am A Disco Dancer, Ramba Ho, Yaad Aa Raha Hhai, Nakabandi.

Actors Akshay Kumar, Anushka Sharma, Rishi Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra added some glam quotient to the show with their impromtu performances.

With songs like Munni and Tere Mast Mast Do Nain, Salman Khan’s Dabangg was the favourite to win at the awards and it did not disappoint.

No comments:

Post a Comment